Board of Directors

Ottawa Special Hockey Stars aims to create an inclusive ice hockey program that welcomes individuals with special needs, that adapts the rules of ice hockey to encourage active participation of all individuals with special needs, and serves as a conduit to promote positive values and life skills.

The Board of Directors administers and supervises the management of activities and affaires of Ottawa Special Hockey Stars. It is composed of 5 members who ensure that the team meets its mission and mandate according to the philosophy of promoting the best interest of special needs children, adolescents and young adults in the Ottawa area. The Board promotes cohesion, collaboration, equity, inclusion and respect for all people with special needs and their families.

Pauline Beevor, Vice-President, is owner of Enertron Electric, along with her husband, Dave. Their son, Derek, is a goalie for Ottawa Special Hockey Stars. Pauline’s background in business and her dedication to her community make her an important asset to the Board of Ottawa Special Hockey Stars.

Leslie Kelly, Treasurer, has been volunteering alongside her husband, Jeff, and their daughter, Kelsey, for many years. Leslie’s attention to detail, as well as her positive and outgoing personality ensure teamwork guides the Board in the right direction.

Brian Berkers, Community Representative Director, is a business owner in Orleans. He is 2019 Winner of the Award of Excellence for Outstanding Achievement. His outstanding contribution and commitment to his community provide Ottawa Special Hockey Stars with a distinctive proficiency of the needs of our families.